Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Columbus and Delaware, Ohio Criminal Defense Attorney

If you have been charged with a criminal offense in Columbus or Delaware, Ohio, contact Johnson Legal, LLC and speak with an experienced Columbus and Delaware, Ohio criminal defense attorney. Attorney David Johnson of Johnson Legal, LLC will discuss your case and assist you in fighting the charges. Call (614) 987-0192 or send an email to schedule a consultation regarding your criminal offense case.

What is Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Ohio?

Leaving the scene of an accident, commonly known as a hit and run or hit/skip, is charged pursuant to Ohio Revised Code (ORC) 4549.02. When an accident occurs, Ohio law requires the person driving the vehicle to immediately stop at the scene of the accident and remain at the scene of the accident until the driver’s name and address has been given to the other driver, injured person or law enforcement.

If the other driver is injured and unable to record the information, the driver must notify law enforcement and remain at the scene of the accident until the police arrive. If the accident is with an unoccupied vehicle, the driver must attach their information to the vehicle. Failure to do as stated above will result in a charge of Leaving the Scene of an Accident.

The following information must be provided by any driver involved in an accident in Ohio to the other driver, injured person or law enforcement:

  • The vehicle operator’s name;
  • The vehicle operator’s address;
  • The registered number of the vehicle; and/or
  • If not the vehicle owner, the name and address of the owner.

Penalties in Ohio for Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Failure to stop after an accident is a 1st degree misdemeanor in Ohio. The offense is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $1000 fine. However, the offense can escalate to a felony based on the circumstances.

If the accident results in serious physical harm to the other driver, the alleged individual who failed to stop can be charged with a 5th degree felony. This offense carries a prison sentence of 6 months to 1 year and a $2500 fine.

If the accident results in the death of the other driver, the alleged individual who failed to stop can be charged with a 3rd degree felony. This offense carries a prison sentence of 9 months to 3 years and a $10,000 fine.

In addition to a jail or prison term, the court will impose a 6 month to 3 year driver’s license suspension and 6 points will be assessed to the offender’s Ohio driver’s license. Accumulating 12 or more points within a 2 year period will result in a Class D license suspension for a period of 6 months.

Offenses Related to Hit and Run in Ohio

Two additional statutes can be used for hit and run offenses in Ohio. These are ORC 4549.021 and 4549.03. ORC 4549.021 concerns stopping after an accident on other than public roads or highways. This statute requires a person driving a vehicle on public or private property to stop after an accident resulting in injury or damage to another person or property. The driver is also required to submit their information within 24 hours to law enforcement if the driver was unable to provide their information to the owner of the vehicle or property.

This offense can be charged as a 1st degree misdemeanor, or as a 5th or 3rd degree felony with the same penalties as outlined above.

Pursuant to ORC 4549.03, a driver of a vehicle involved in an accident that results in property damage to real property, or personal property attached to real property, must take reasonable steps to locate the owner of the property and give them the driver’s information. If the driver is unable to locate the owner, the driver must submit their information to law enforcement within 24 hours.

This offense will be charged as a 1st degree misdemeanor, with the same penalties as outlined above.

Criminal Defense Attorney – Columbus and Delaware, Ohio

If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident in Columbus or Delaware, Ohio, contact Johnson Legal, LLC and speak with an experienced Columbus and Delaware, Ohio criminal defense attorney. Attorney David Johnson of Johnson Legal, LLC will discuss your case and assist you in fighting the charges. Call (614) 987-0192 or send an email to schedule a consultation regarding your leaving the scene of an accident case.